Company Narratives

Loads Limited FY2026: Auto Recovery Lifts Scale as Liquidity Improves, but Group Drag Remains

Loads entered FY2027 with stronger auto demand and repaired liquidity, but inventory growth and subsidiary losses still shape earnings quality.

Company Name: Loads Limited

Ticker: LOADS

Reporting period: Year ended June 30, 2026

AlphaGen model outputs

  • Alpha QoQ Score: 99.38
  • TTM Performance Score: 69.98
  • 3Y Business Perf Score: 88.41
  • Sector Leadership Score: 70.74

These four reader-facing measures are AlphaGen model outputs, not figures reported by Loads Limited.

Verdict

Loads Limited ended FY2026 with a genuine operating recovery: consolidated revenue rose 25.7%, gross margin improved, finance cost fell, and group profit after tax more than tripled from a depressed base. The stronger result was not simply a year-end accounting swing. Management had already reported a 30% rise in nine-month sales, tied to better OEM demand and a recovering automotive market, with growth across exhaust systems, sheet-metal components and radiators. Even so, the quality of the recovery is mixed. Full-year operating profit grew only 9.1% because other income fell sharply and year-end impairments and expected-credit-loss charges absorbed part of the gross-profit gain. More importantly, consolidated operating cash flow fell 71.0% as a much larger inventory build absorbed cash. The March rights issue materially repaired liquidity, but short-term borrowings still increased and subsidiaries continued to drag consolidated earnings. The next test is whether higher volumes can convert into cash without another large working-capital build. Official FY2026 result filing.

The official PSX filing covers the year ended June 30, 2026 and presents both consolidated and unconsolidated results. This analysis uses the consolidated statements as the primary basis because Loads Limited reports a group containing operating subsidiaries, while the standalone parent figures are used where they reveal an important difference in earnings quality. The filing was approved by the Board on September 17, 2026. It states that the full Annual Report will be transmitted later and does not contain the independent auditor's report, so no audit opinion is inferred here. The prior nine-month statements used for the Q4 bridge were explicitly unaudited. Official FY2026 result filing. Official nine-month report.

Results at a glance

What improved

Demand recovery was visible before year-end. In its nine-month Directors' Review, Loads said sales increased 30% to Rs5.66 billion, primarily because of improved demand from original-equipment manufacturers alongside recovery in the automotive sector. The same report showed exhaust-system sales up 29% to Rs3.46 billion, sheet-metal components up 30% to Rs1.92 billion and radiators up 54% to Rs278 million. Management also cited better cost absorption and product-mix optimization for the nine-month gross-margin improvement. Those are company explanations, not inferred causes. Official nine-month report.

The sector evidence supports the direction of that explanation. Loads' nine-month report, citing PAMA, showed passenger car/LCV/SUV sales up 43% and heavy-commercial-vehicle sales up 74% over the comparable nine months, while tractors were down 13%. This makes the rebound broader than a Loads-specific story, although the company's exact exposure to each vehicle category is not disclosed in the annual result packet. It is reasonable to infer that a stronger OEM production environment gave component suppliers more volume over which to absorb fixed manufacturing costs; the company itself separately cited better cost absorption and product mix for its margin improvement. Official nine-month report.

At the full-year level, revenue reached Rs7.58 billion, up 25.7%, while gross profit grew faster at 31.2%. That lifted consolidated gross margin by roughly 96 basis points to 22.82%. The improvement is economically meaningful because it suggests the added scale was not bought solely through lower unit economics. However, gross-margin improvement did not fully translate into operating-margin expansion. Administrative, selling and general expenses rose 27.8%, the company recognized Rs15.8 million of property, plant and equipment impairment, and it booked new expected-credit-loss provisions against trade debt and sales tax. Other income also fell to Rs36.4 million from Rs185.3 million. As a result, operating profit rose only 9.1% and operating margin declined. Official FY2026 result filing.

Finance cost was a clearer positive. Consolidated finance cost fell 26.3% to Rs354.5 million despite year-end short-term borrowings being higher than a year earlier. Management had already linked the nine-month increase in profit before tax partly to easing policy rates and a relatively stable macro environment. The lower annual finance-cost line is consistent with that explanation, although that linkage beyond management's nine-month comment is an inference. The rate tailwind should not be extrapolated mechanically: the State Bank raised the policy rate from 10.5% to 11.5% on April 28, 2026 and kept it at 11.5% in June. The final quarter therefore ended with a tighter benchmark than the first nine months had enjoyed. Official FY2026 result filing. SBP April 2026 monetary-policy decision. SBP June 2026 monetary-policy decision.

Q4 bridge: stronger gross economics, but the bottom line needs context

Loads did not publish a separate audited Q4 income statement. Q4 can therefore be examined only as an arithmetic residual between the FY2026 result and the unaudited nine months ended March 31, 2026. On that basis, consolidated Q4 revenue was about Rs1.92 billion versus Rs1.69 billion a year earlier, up 14.1%. Gross profit was about Rs552.5 million versus Rs373.5 million, up 47.9%, implying a derived gross margin of 28.7% versus 22.1%. That is a much better gross-profit outcome than the slower revenue growth alone would suggest. Official FY2026 result filing. Official nine-month report.

Below gross profit, the quarter was less clean. Derived operating profit was about Rs385.0 million, only around 3.7% above the comparable residual. The annual filing includes impairment and expected-credit-loss charges not present in the nine-month consolidated profit statement, while derived other income was far lower than in the prior-year Q4 residual. Because annual closing entries can be recognized in the final quarter, these residual charges should not automatically be treated as a normal quarterly run-rate. What can be said safely is that the strong gross-profit improvement was partly absorbed by provisioning, impairment and a weaker other-income contribution before reaching operating profit. Official FY2026 result filing. Official nine-month report.

Derived consolidated Q4 PAT was roughly Rs114 million versus about Rs17.6 million in the comparable residual. The percentage increase is therefore extremely large, but the base was very low. It is more useful to observe that Q4 profit before tax rose by roughly one-quarter and that the tax burden on the residual was lighter year on year. The quarter supports the view that operating conditions improved, but the 500%-plus PAT growth rate is not an appropriate normalized growth assumption. Official FY2026 result filing. Official nine-month report.

Consolidated versus standalone: subsidiaries still matter

The difference between the parent company and the group is central to reading Loads. Standalone FY2026 PAT was Rs562.9 million, up 13.7% from Rs495.2 million. Consolidated PAT was only Rs271.0 million, even after rising from Rs81.9 million. Profit attributable to owners of the parent in the consolidated statements was Rs416.5 million, while non-controlling interests absorbed a Rs145.5 million loss. The group result therefore still carries material subsidiary losses and consolidation effects, even though the overall drag narrowed compared with FY2025. Official FY2026 result filing.

The balance sheet reinforces that point. Equity attributable to owners of the parent increased to Rs5.31 billion, but negative non-controlling interests widened to about Rs1.08 billion from Rs934 million, leaving total consolidated equity at Rs4.23 billion. Negative NCI does not by itself determine future cash requirements, but it is a clear signal that subsidiary economics and funding remain material to the group. That is why the much stronger standalone parent profit should not be substituted for consolidated earnings when judging the whole business. Official FY2026 result filing.

Cash flow and working capital: liquidity improved, inventory is the counterweight

Consolidated cash conversion weakened sharply. Net cash generated from operating activities fell 71.0% to Rs195.7 million from Rs675.8 million even though profit after tax increased. Before working-capital movements, operating cash generation improved, but current operating assets absorbed about Rs693.1 million compared with a Rs168.8 million release a year earlier; stock-in-trade alone absorbed about Rs847.6 million versus a roughly Rs194.7 million release in FY2025. Higher operating liabilities provided some offset. Cash generated from operations fell to Rs738.6 million from Rs1.14 billion, while tax payments increased to about Rs526.1 million from Rs455.1 million. The result is a clear gap between stronger accounting earnings and weaker consolidated cash conversion. Official FY2026 result filing.

At year-end, consolidated stock-in-trade stood at Rs1.64 billion, more than double the Rs799 million balance a year earlier. Trade debts actually declined about 6.3% to Rs691 million, so the main working-capital expansion was inventory rather than receivables. That distinction matters. An inventory build can be consistent with higher production and expected demand, but the annual result packet does not disclose enough detail to tell how much is raw material, work in process or finished goods, or whether the build is strategic. It should therefore be monitored rather than automatically labeled either healthy or problematic. Official FY2026 result filing.

The March rights issue changed the liquidity picture materially. Loads raised Rs1.5 billion by issuing 120 million ordinary shares to existing shareholders. Management said the proceeds were intended to strengthen the capital structure and support working-capital optimization, aftermarket expansion and export development. Consolidated current assets rose 43.8% to Rs3.54 billion while current liabilities fell 14.6% to Rs3.20 billion, lifting the current ratio above 1x from about 0.66x. Total consolidated equity rose 67.4%. This is a real balance-sheet repair. Official FY2026 result filing. Official nine-month report.

That repair did not eliminate funding pressure. Short-term borrowings increased 32.0% to Rs1.02 billion, even as the current portion of long-term loans fell. Cash and bank balances improved to Rs274.6 million from Rs38.6 million. The picture is therefore better liquidity and a stronger equity base, but alongside a bigger inventory position and continued use of short-term debt. The next cycle needs to show that the enlarged working-capital base can support growth without consuming the benefits of the rights issue. Official FY2026 result filing.

What weakened / needs attention

The principal weakness is not demand; it is conversion and group quality. Revenue and gross profit grew strongly, yet operating profit lagged because other income normalized lower and year-end charges increased. Inventory more than doubled, and consolidated operating cash flow fell 71.0% despite higher earnings as working capital absorbed substantially more cash. Consolidated PAT also remains far below standalone PAT because subsidiaries and non-controlling interests still drag the group. These are the main reasons the headline profit recovery should not be read as an equally strong improvement in cash earnings quality. Official FY2026 result filing.

A second issue is related-party capital allocation. On September 17, after the reporting period, the Board proposed converting a Rs652.6 million outstanding trade receivable from Multiple Autoparts Industries into a formal unsecured long-term loan for up to seven years at KIBOR plus 3%, subject to shareholder approval. It also proposed a separate fresh long-term facility of up to Rs250 million for the same entity's working capital and financial obligations, again subject to approval. The first proposal involves no new cash disbursement, but both are relevant because they show that subsidiary funding remains an active use of parent-company resources. Post-period material-information filing.

Strategic optionality is increasing, but it is not yet earnings

In June 2026, Loads signed a non-binding memorandum of understanding with Anhui Xinhuida New Material Technology to explore cooperation in copper trading, processing, manufacturing, exports, technology transfer and potentially a joint venture or acquisition in Pakistan. The filing explicitly says discussions were preliminary, subject to due diligence, definitive agreements and regulatory approvals, with no assurance that a transaction would materialize. It should therefore be treated as strategic optionality, not as part of FY2026 earnings or a committed new business line. Official June 2026 material-information filing.

What to monitor next

The operating backdrop entering FY2027 is mixed. PAMA's September 14 industry update said July-August 2026 passenger-car sales were up 80% year on year and truck-and-bus sales up 73%, showing that the low-base recovery continued. But PAMA also reported sharp month-on-month declines in August and warned about policy uncertainty following the June 2026 expiry of AIDEP 2021-26. For Loads, that means strong year-on-year industry volumes can coexist with a less predictable near-term order environment. PAMA industry update.

  • OEM-led revenue growth after the derived Q4 slowdown, without assuming the first nine months automatically repeat.
  • Whether the unusually strong derived Q4 gross margin persists once full annual-report detail and the next interim result are available.
  • Inventory growth relative to sales and operating cash conversion as the larger working-capital base turns.
  • Finance cost after the policy rate was raised to 11.5% late in FY2026.
  • Whether subsidiaries narrow the gap between standalone and consolidated profitability.
  • Use of the proposed MAIL funding if shareholders approve it, and any effect on parent-company liquidity.
  • Any disclosed, measurable contribution from aftermarket, export or copper initiatives rather than strategic announcements alone.

Sources