Company Name: Bestway Cement Ltd
Ticker: BWCL
Bestway Cement is more than a large kiln network. Its operating company earns money from manufacturing and selling cement, while a major investment in United Bank Limited contributes a second, economically distinct stream of profit. That combination matters: the cement plants determine revenue, gross margin and cash generation, but associate income can materially change reported earnings.
The company in one view
Bestway Cement Limited was incorporated in Pakistan in December 1993 and listed in April 2001. It is controlled by Bestway International Holdings Limited, which held 56.43% at June 30, 2026; that company is wholly owned by Guernsey-incorporated Bestway Group Limited. The listed company manufactures cement at Hattar, Farooqia, Chakwal, Kallar Kahar and Mianwali and operates sales offices in Rawalpindi, Lahore, Peshawar and Multan. FY2026 audited annual report
The business began with a greenfield plant at Hattar, moved into Chakwal, acquired Mustehkam Cement—now Farooqia—and later acquired Lafarge Pakistan, now the Kallar Kahar operation. Mianwali became the fifth site. This history explains the present footprint: Bestway combined internally built lines with acquisitions, then added capacity and energy infrastructure across the network. Bestway Group history
Management describes Bestway as Pakistan’s largest cement producer and market leader. The FY2026 accounts report 14.594 million tonnes of available clinker capacity across five sites and actual clinker output of 6.157 million tonnes. The broader Bestway Group website cites 15.3 million tonnes of annual nameplate clinker capacity, five sites and eight kilns; the audited available-capacity table is the cleaner figure for utilisation analysis. Bestway Cement business profile
How cement moves from quarry to customer
The industrial chain begins with mineral extraction. Limestone and other materials are quarried, crushed, ground and blended. The raw meal is preheated and fired in a high-temperature kiln to form clinker; clinker is then cooled and ground with gypsum or other ingredients into cement. This sequence makes the kiln the economic centre of the plant because both fuel consumption and chemical conversion are concentrated there. American Cement Association process guide
Bestway’s five locations are integrated production sites rather than simple distribution depots. The company’s asset register includes quarries, crushers, kilns, grinding equipment, laboratories and packing infrastructure. Its product portfolio spans ordinary Portland cement under several brands, white Portland cement, sulphate-resistant cement, low-alkali and low-heat products, Dura Cem, early-setting Stallion cement, and Xtreme tile bond and grout. The portfolio lets Bestway serve general construction as well as infrastructure, dams, bridges, precast and chemically difficult environments. FY2026 audited annual report
Clinker chemistry and product quality are important, but route to market determines working capital. Revenue is recognised when cement is dispatched from a plant or delivered to the agreed location. Standard credit terms are five days for distributors and retailers and up to 60 days for corporate customers. At June 2026, PKR 1.548 billion of gross trade receivables came from dealers versus only PKR 10.7 million from end users, showing how strongly the commercial model depends on the dealer network. FY2026 audited annual report
How Bestway makes money
Volume, realised price and mix
The basic earnings equation is tonnes sold multiplied by net revenue per tonne, less the cost of producing and delivering those tonnes. FY2026 cement and Xtreme Bond sales rose 2.9% to 7.042 million tonnes. Local dispatches increased 3.9%, while management said competitive pressure reduced prices. This is why net turnover grew only 0.5% to PKR 108.282 billion even though physical sales rose faster. FY2026 audited annual report
Gross turnover is not the same as revenue available to cover costs. Bestway reported PKR 172.339 billion of gross turnover, then deducted PKR 7.078 billion of rebates and discounts and PKR 56.979 billion of sales tax and excise duty. The resulting net turnover was PKR 108.282 billion. Export gross turnover dropped to PKR 585 million from PKR 1.580 billion, consistent with management’s warning that the Afghanistan border closure and regional disruption constrained exports. FY2026 audited annual report
Manufacturing cost and energy
Cement is energy-intensive. In FY2026, fuel and power cost PKR 38.691 billion, equal to 51.0% of total cost of sales. Raw and packing materials consumed PKR 20.278 billion, or 26.7%, while production depreciation was PKR 7.811 billion, or 10.3%. Together, these three lines represented about 88% of cost of sales. The exact imported share of coal, fuel, equipment and spares is not disclosed, so a precise foreign-exchange sensitivity should not be invented; the accounts do establish that energy, materials and a large fixed asset base dominate the economics. FY2026 audited annual report
Bestway offsets part of conventional electricity exposure through captive renewable assets. Its FY2026 disclosures cite 110 MW of captive solar capacity and waste-heat-recovery plants at all five sites. Waste-heat recovery converts heat that would otherwise escape from the clinker process into electricity, while solar reduces grid or conventional generation requirements during daylight hours. These systems do not eliminate fuel needed for clinker formation, but they can lower purchased-power intensity and soften tariff exposure. FY2026 audited annual report
The company also reports air-cooled condenser systems that reduced industrial water requirements by about 80%, with rainwater harvesting meeting 100% of industrial water requirements at Chakwal and Kallar Kahar. These are operating-resilience measures as much as environmental ones: reliable power and water are essential for continuous-process assets. FY2026 audited annual report
Key facts and figures
FY2026 net turnover: PKR 108.282 billion, up 0.5% year on year. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 cement and Xtreme Bond sales: 7.042 million tonnes, up 2.9%. FY2026 audited annual report
June 2026 available clinker capacity: 14.594 million tonnes across five plants; actual production was 6.157 million tonnes, implying approximately 42.2% utilisation. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 gross profit: PKR 32.461 billion; gross margin was 30.0%, down from 34.6% in FY2025. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 operating profit: PKR 26.516 billion, down 16.7%; operating margin was 24.5% versus 29.5%. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 finance cost: PKR 5.359 billion, down 29.7% as borrowing and interest rates declined. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 share of profit from equity-accounted investees: PKR 14.548 billion, up 35.4%, almost entirely from United Bank Limited. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 unconsolidated profit after tax: PKR 25.757 billion, up 7.9%; earnings per share were PKR 43.20. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 operating cash flow: PKR 24.160 billion; capital expenditure was PKR 3.642 billion. FY2026 audited annual report
June 2026 unconsolidated equity: PKR 133.876 billion; total disclosed long- and short-term borrowings were approximately PKR 51.206 billion. FY2026 audited annual report
FY2026 dividend: three PKR 10 interim dividends plus a proposed PKR 10 final dividend, taking the stated annual payout to PKR 40 per share. FY2026 audited annual report
June 2026 employees: 2,131 at year-end, with an average of 2,099 during FY2026. FY2026 audited annual report
Why FY2026 earnings need to be read in layers
The headline result improved, but the cement operation itself weakened. Gross profit fell 12.9% because cost of sales rose 7.6% while net revenue was nearly flat. Operating profit declined 16.7% to PKR 26.516 billion. Competitive pricing, higher depreciation and cost inflation outweighed the benefit from additional tonnes. The gross-margin decline of about 4.6 percentage points is therefore the most important signal from the core business. FY2026 audited annual report
Two non-operating bridges prevented the margin contraction from becoming an earnings decline. Finance cost fell by PKR 2.266 billion to PKR 5.359 billion, reflecting lower debt and interest rates. More importantly, the share of profit from equity-accounted investees increased by PKR 3.803 billion to PKR 14.548 billion. This associate contribution represented about 40% of unconsolidated profit before tax. Profit after tax consequently rose 7.9% even though cement operating profit fell. FY2026 audited annual report
United Bank Limited produced PKR 14.534 billion of the associate-profit line; UBL Insurers added PKR 14.5 million. The June 2026 carrying value of the two equity-accounted investments was PKR 53.749 billion. Economically, this means BWCL’s reported earnings are partly a cement result and partly a banking result. A strong UBL contribution can cushion weak cement margins, while a reversal would expose more of the industrial cycle. FY2026 audited annual report
Cash conversion, leverage and the balance sheet
Bestway generated PKR 24.160 billion of operating cash in FY2026, down 5.1% but close to reported profit after tax. Cash generated before finance cost, gratuity and tax was PKR 44.974 billion. A PKR 10.562 billion increase in trade and other payables was a major working-capital source, while inventory and receivables absorbed cash. Readers should therefore separate healthy operating profitability from the temporary cash benefit of paying suppliers and other liabilities later. FY2026 audited annual report
After PKR 3.642 billion of capital expenditure, operating cash still covered normal investment comfortably. However, the parent also advanced PKR 4.290 billion to Bestway Automotive and paid PKR 16.440 billion of dividends. Financing cash flow was negative PKR 31.733 billion because debt repayments and dividends exceeded new borrowing. Cash and cash equivalents remained negative after bank overdrafts, despite PKR 1.792 billion of cash and bank balances on the statement of financial position. FY2026 audited annual report
Total disclosed borrowings fell to roughly PKR 51.206 billion from PKR 58.066 billion. Yet liquidity remains tight: current assets were PKR 35.308 billion against current liabilities of PKR 75.421 billion, a current ratio near 0.47. Management attributes the PKR 40.1 billion net-current-liability position partly to current maturities and a preference for short-term debt while interest rates fell. That funding choice helps near-term interest cost but increases refinancing sensitivity. FY2026 audited annual report
Subsidiaries, associates and the automotive option
Bestway Automotive (Private) Limited was incorporated on September 22, 2025 to manufacture and assemble automobiles and parts. It acquired an assembly line, land, buildings, machinery, inventories and related assets, but had not begun manufacturing or commercial operations by June 30, 2026. The consolidated accounts therefore still identify cement as the only reportable segment; the automotive segment recorded no external revenue and a pre-tax loss before consolidation effects. FY2026 audited annual report
The automotive venture creates both optionality and capital-allocation risk. The FY2026 AGM notice says an earlier approval covered up to PKR 10 billion—PKR 4 billion equity and PKR 6 billion debt—and PKR 4.290 billion had been invested, almost entirely as debt. Bestway Automotive then offered PKR 5.9999 billion of rights. Shareholders were asked to decide whether the listed cement company should subscribe; the notice warns that if BWCL declines and a third party subscribes, the vehicle company could cease to be its subsidiary. This is a proposed decision, not a completed outcome. FY2026 audited annual report
Competitive position and cyclicality
Scale is Bestway’s main structural advantage. Five sites spread across northern Pakistan provide production flexibility, a broad dealer reach and multiple brands. Renewable power and waste-heat recovery can reduce electricity intensity, while specialty products widen the addressable customer base. The UBL stake adds a source of earnings and dividends that does not depend directly on cement dispatches. Official PSX company profile
Scale also creates fixed-cost risk. FY2026 clinker utilisation was only about 42%, based on the audited available-capacity table. Low utilisation means depreciation, maintenance and staffing are spread over fewer tonnes. Pricing competition can therefore damage margin even when sales volumes rise. High capacity across the northern industry, freight costs and the limited ability to export through disrupted borders compound this problem.
Favourable conditions include stronger private construction, public infrastructure spending, affordable housing finance, lower interest rates, stable fuel and electricity costs and a reopening of export routes. Adverse conditions include weak construction, price competition, coal or energy inflation, rupee depreciation on imported inputs, higher freight, new taxes or royalties, prolonged border closure and rising interest rates. The annual report supports the demand, pricing, energy, freight and rate exposures; the exact sensitivity to each variable is not disclosed. FY2026 audited annual report
Growth avenues and structural risks
The clearest core growth avenue is better utilisation of installed clinker capacity. A recovery in domestic dispatches can add tonnes without recreating the full plant network. Premium and application-specific products can improve mix, while continued solar and waste-heat utilisation can protect energy economics. The automotive subsidiary is a separate growth option, but it should not be valued as an operating earnings stream until production, products, partners, capacity and commercial volumes are disclosed.
The main risks are margin compression from competitive pricing; fuel and power inflation; underutilised kilns; short-term refinancing dependence; working-capital reversal if payables normalise; regulatory and royalty changes; export-route disruption; and capital committed outside cement. A further analytical risk is over-reading consolidated profit without isolating UBL’s contribution. AlphaGen’s inference is that Bestway’s resilience comes from both industrial scale and financial diversification, but those strengths should be monitored separately because they respond to different cycles.
How to read this company’s results
Start with cement tonnes, net revenue per tonne and gross margin. Volume growth without stable realised pricing can still destroy value. Next, compare clinker utilisation with fuel and power cost per tonne: those measures indicate whether scale and renewable assets are translating into manufacturing efficiency. Then inspect selling cost, operating margin and cash generated before finance and tax.
After evaluating the core business, isolate finance cost and the share of profit from UBL and UBL Insurers. Treat associate income as a genuine economic asset, but not as evidence that the cement margin improved. Reconcile profit with operating cash flow, noting movements in inventory, receivables and payables. Finally, track net current liabilities, debt maturity, dividends and any fresh commitment to Bestway Automotive. A high-quality result would combine stronger utilisation, stable pricing, resilient gross margin, positive cash conversion and controlled non-cement investment.
Sources
Bestway Cement FY2026 audited annual report
Pakistan Stock Exchange company profile
Bestway Group cement business profile
Bestway Group corporate history